Guides

How to cut no-shows in a private clinic, with the evidence attached.

By Zain M · Updated 14 September 2026 · 12 min read

To reduce no-shows in a private clinic, send more than one reminder and make rescheduling one tap: a BMJ Open meta-analysis found patients who received electronic reminders were 25 per cent less likely to no-show (15 per cent against 21 per cent). Add a proportionate cancellation policy, refill released slots automatically, and target the highest-risk bookings with a live call.

NHS outpatient DNA rate5.6% in 2024-25 (8.1 million)
Reminders vs none25% fewer no-shows (BMJ Open)
Text vs phone reminderNo difference (Cochrane, RR 0.99)
NHS AI pilot30% fewer DNAs in six months

What a no-show actually costs, and why the fee is the smaller loss

A missed appointment costs a private clinic twice. The obvious loss is the fee. The larger loss is the clinician’s hour, which was paid for whether or not anyone sat in the chair, and which cannot be sold again once it has passed. Most clinics count the first loss because it shows up as a gap in the ledger, and ignore the second because nothing shows up at all.

The scale of the problem in the NHS is a reasonable proxy for what a private practice faces, and it is measured properly. In 2024-25 there were 146.1 million outpatient appointments in England, of which 113.2 million were attended and 8.1 million were recorded as did not attend, a DNA rate of 5.6 per cent. That is down from 5.9 per cent the year before and 6.2 per cent in 2019-20, but the absolute number still rose by just over 123,800. When NHS England launched its AI pilot at Mid and South Essex in 2023, the trust’s baseline DNA rate was 8 per cent, and NHS England put the national cost of missed hospital appointments at £1.2 billion a year.

Private clinics rarely publish their rates, and the honest answer is that yours depends on the specialty, the lead time and whether the patient has already paid. The figure to track is not the no-show rate alone but revenue per available clinical hour, because that captures the missed fee, the wasted hour and the slot you could have refilled if you had known in time.

What the trials say reminders are worth

The evidence on reminders is better than the evidence on almost anything else a small clinic can buy, because it has been randomised and pooled several times. The largest UK-authored synthesis is a BMJ Open meta-analysis from King’s College London, covering 21 studies and 16,076 patients. Patients who received electronic notifications were 23 per cent more likely to attend (67 per cent against 54 per cent) and 25 per cent less likely to no-show (15 per cent against 21 per cent). Multiple notifications were significantly more effective than a single one, and voice notifications appeared more effective than text.

The Cochrane review of mobile phone reminders, eight trials and 6,615 participants, reached a similar conclusion with a useful twist. Text reminders beat no reminder (risk ratio 1.14). Text and telephone reminders performed the same (risk ratio 0.99), with attendance of 67.8 per cent with no reminder, 78.6 per cent with a text and 80.3 per cent with a call. Text was 55 to 65 per cent cheaper per attendance than a phone call. If a receptionist is spending a morning ringing round, the evidence says a well-timed text does the same job for a fraction of the cost.

A 2026 NHS quality-improvement project in general surgery clinics at Mid and South Essex, published in BMJ Open Quality, shows what the sequence looks like in practice: DNAs fell from 12.2 per cent at baseline to 9.4 per cent with a telephone call 72 hours before, and to 8.1 per cent with automated texts five to seven days before and again the day before. The authors’ conclusion is worth keeping in mind: reminders cannot on their own resolve non-attendance without fixing contact data, booking capacity and two-way communication.

StudyDesignComparisonResultSource and date
Robotham et al., BMJ OpenMeta-analysis, 21 studies, 16,076 patientsElectronic notification vs noneNo-shows 15% vs 21% (RR 0.75); attendance 67% vs 54%; multiple messages beat oneBMJ Open, Oct 2016
Gurol-Urganci et al., CochraneReview of 8 RCTs, 6,615 participantsText vs none; text vs phone callText vs none RR 1.14; text vs call RR 0.99; attendance 67.8% / 78.6% / 80.3%; text 55 to 65% cheaper per attendanceCochrane, Dec 2013
Tarabichi et al., JGIMRCT, 5,840 appointments, US primary careLive call to model-flagged high-risk patients, on top of standard remindersNo-shows 33% vs 36%; among Black patients 36% vs 42%J Gen Intern Med, 2023
Siriwardana et al., BMJ Open QualityQI project, 1,500 slots, NHS general surgeryBaseline; call at 72 hours; texts at 5 to 7 days and 1 dayDNA 12.2% to 9.4% (calls) to 8.1% (texts)BMJ Open Quality, Jul 2026
Werner et al., BMC Health Services ResearchSystematic review, 61 studiesReminders by SMS, phone or post vs none"Significant evidence supporting the effectiveness of reminders"; 56 of 61 studies were reminder studiesBMC HSR, 2023

Results are as stated in each paper’s abstract. The BMJ Open, Cochrane and BMC papers are pooled reviews; the JGIM paper is a single-site US trial and the BMJ Open Quality paper is a single-trust NHS improvement project.

The sequence that the evidence supports

Put the studies together and a pattern falls out. One reminder is better than none; two or three are better than one; the message that recovers the most slots is the one sent while there is still time to move the appointment, not the one sent the night before. The NHS project above used five to seven days and one day. The confirmation at booking counts as the first message and costs nothing.

The second half of the pattern is what the message lets the patient do. If the only options are attend or cancel, a proportion of people who cannot make it will simply not turn up, because cancelling feels like admitting something. If the same text offers three alternative times that can be accepted in one tap, a share of would-be no-shows become moved appointments. The reminder is not the intervention. The reschedule link is.

The final piece is what happens to the released slot. A cancellation received three days out is only worth something if the slot is refilled, and it will only be refilled if the offer reaches a waiting list within minutes rather than after a receptionist has worked through a call sheet. The proportion of released slots refilled is the number almost no clinic measures, and it is the one that turns a cancellation policy from a deterrent into revenue.

01Confirmation at the point of booking, with the cancellation terms stated plainly in the same message.
02A reminder five to seven days out, offering a reschedule in one tap, because this is the message that converts silent no-shows into moved appointments.
03A short reminder the day before, or 72 hours before for procedures with preparation.
04A live call, from a person or an AI receptionist, only for the bookings your own data says are highest risk: long lead times, first visits, unpaid, or a history of missing.
05An automatic offer of any released slot to a waiting list, accepted in one tap, within minutes of the release.

Should you target reminders with a model? What the NHS found

NHS England has been piloting predictive no-show software since February 2023, when Mid and South Essex NHS Foundation Trust began using Deep Medical’s system to predict which appointments were likely to be missed, offer those patients more convenient times, and arrange intelligent back-up bookings so a slot was not wasted. In March 2024 NHS England reported that the trust had cut DNAs by 30 per cent over six months, preventing 377 missed appointments and allowing 1,910 additional patients to be seen, and announced a roll-out to ten further trusts. The same release cited University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire cutting DNAs from 10 per cent to 4 per cent in a pilot subset using process mining, and Sheffield Children’s sending 53,800 texts over twelve months with roughly 200 additional appointments attended a month.

Those are NHS England’s figures for NHS programmes, not vendor claims, but they are pilot results rather than controlled trials, and the comparison period is not published. The only randomised evidence on model-targeted reminders is a US primary-care trial across 5,840 appointments: adding a live reminder call for patients a random-forest model flagged at 15 per cent or more no-show risk cut the no-show rate from 36 per cent to 33 per cent overall, and from 42 per cent to 36 per cent among Black patients. Three points overall is a modest gain, bought with a phone call to a minority of bookings.

For a private clinic the practical lesson is narrower than the headlines. You do not need a predictive model to know which of your bookings are risky; your own booking history will tell you within a month. Targeting the live call at those, and sending texts to everyone else, is the cheap version of what the NHS is paying for.

Deposits and cancellation charges: what the CMA and CQC allow

Deposits work, and they cost bookings. Whether the trade is worth it depends on how full the diary is. What is not optional is the shape of the policy, because a clinic is a trader selling to consumers. The Competition and Markets Authority’s unfair contract terms guidance says a term that makes any substantial prepayment entirely non-refundable regardless of the circumstances "is more likely to be unfair". A genuine deposit may be kept in full only where it is a binding reservation, the patient is told up front that it is required and exactly when it would be lost, those circumstances are "clear and narrow", and it is "not normally more than a small percentage of the price". A sliding scale of cancellation charges is acceptable if it is prominent and never punitive.

That rules out the two policies clinics most often copy from each other: a large non-refundable deposit with no stated exceptions, and a full-fee charge for any cancellation whatever the notice. It rules in a small deposit, a stated notice period, and a scale that reflects what the clinic actually loses. The policy also has to be in the confirmation message, not only on the website.

For CQC-registered services there is a second constraint. The single assessment framework’s quality statement on equity in access expects providers to make sure "everyone can access the care, support and treatment they need when they need it", lists "waiting times, delays and cancellations" and "digital exclusion" among the subtopics it assesses, and expects reasonable adjustments and the removal of barriers. A reminder system that only works for people with smartphones, or a deposit that quietly excludes patients on low incomes, is the kind of thing an inspector now asks about. Appointment confirmations and reminders are service messages rather than marketing under the ICO’s guidance, so no marketing consent is needed to send them, but the contact data still has to be accurate and the patient still has to be able to reply.

What UK clinic booking and reminder software publishes as its price

Most of the mechanism above is a feature of practice-management software the clinic may already pay for. The table records what each vendor publishes, read in September 2026. Several of the best-known UK names publish no price at all, which is itself useful to know before a demo.

VendorPublished priceReminders and bookingNotesRead
Cliniko$45 a month for 1 practitioner; $95 for 2 to 5; $145 for 6 to 8; $195 for 9 to 12; up to $395 for 26 to 200SMS credits 10 cents a message; every feature on every planPrices published in US dollars only, 30-day free trialSep 2026
WriteUppFlex from £19.95 a month; Solo £27.95; Solo with AI Scribe £49.95; Group from £45.95Online booking and 100 SMS credits a month on Solo; 100 per clinical user on Group; online booking £4.95 a clinic a month on FlexAI Medical Scribe £23.95 a user a month; SMS top-ups sold separatelySep 2026
PabauTiers by user count (Solo, Team 2 to 3, Medium 4 to 5, Group 6 to 15, Enterprise 16+); price on demoScheduling, online booking, two-way SMS and email on every plan; waitlist managementEngage Plus add-on for AI agents answering calls and messages, priced on demoSep 2026
SembleNo pricing page publishedNot stated on siteQuote onlySep 2026
MeddbaseNo published price; "tailored solutions"Not stated on pricing pagePriced on practice size, features, customisation and integrationsSep 2026
Zesty and Doctolib UKNo published UK price foundNot verifiedZesty now redirects to Induction Healthcare; Doctolib’s UK site did not resolve when checkedSep 2026
Twilio (raw SMS, for a custom build)$0.056 an outbound message to a UK mobile; inbound $0.0075; alphanumeric sender ID freePer segment; carrier fees may applyUS-dollar pricingSep 2026

All prices as published on the vendor’s own page on the date shown; Cliniko and Twilio publish in US dollars. Where a vendor does not publish a price, the table says so rather than quoting a third-party estimate.

A worked example: 400 appointments a month

Take a hypothetical private clinic with 400 appointments a month, an average fee of £150, and a no-show rate of 8 per cent, which is the baseline NHS England reported for Mid and South Essex before its pilot. None of these are client figures; they are chosen to make the arithmetic visible. Change them for your own.

At 8 per cent, 32 appointments a month are missed. That is £4,800 a month in fees, £57,600 a year, before counting the clinician hours. If a reminder sequence performs as the BMJ Open pooled estimate suggests, a 25 per cent relative reduction, no-shows fall to 24 a month and eight fees are recovered: £1,200 a month, £14,400 a year. The messages cost almost nothing. Three texts per appointment is 1,200 messages a month; at Twilio’s published UK rate of $0.056 that is about $67, and at Cliniko’s 10 cents a credit it is $120. WriteUpp’s Solo plan includes 100 credits in £27.95 a month and sells top-ups on top.

The second gain is the refill. If the reschedule link turns some of the remaining 24 into cancellations with notice, and the waiting-list offer refills even one released slot in four, that is a further six appointments a month, £900, or £10,800 a year. Neither figure is guaranteed; both are the kind of number a clinic can measure within a quarter. Against that, an AI receptionist that answers the phone, sends the sequence and makes the targeted calls is priced at a level a 400-appointment clinic can test in a single quarter, which is the point of the next section.

What an AI receptionist adds, and what it does not

Everything in this guide can be done with a practice-management system and a disciplined front desk. What an AI receptionist adds is the part the front desk cannot do at scale: answer every call including the ones that arrive while the receptionist is with a patient, send the reminder sequence on time without anyone remembering, make the targeted live call to the high-risk bookings, and offer a released slot to the waiting list within minutes rather than hours. The Cochrane evidence says a call and a text perform the same for the average patient, so the call should be reserved for the bookings where it earns its cost.

It does not fix wrong phone numbers, a diary with no capacity to reschedule into, or a policy that is unclear. The NHS project that cut DNAs from 12.2 to 8.1 per cent made exactly that point. It also does not remove the CQC duty to serve people who cannot use a smartphone, which is why a voice channel and a human fallback matter more in a clinic than in most businesses.

Augustova builds this as a fixed-price project. An AI adoption audit at £2,500 to £6,000, credited against a build, is usually enough to pull the last twelve months of bookings, find which appointment types and lead times carry the risk, and price the fix. A first agent, which for a clinic normally means the reminder sequence, the reschedule flow and the waiting-list refill, is £4,000 to £15,000; a custom AI system with the receptionist, targeted calling and integration into your practice software is £8,000 to £25,000. All fixed, excluding VAT, no day rates.

What to measure before and after

A clinic that changes three things at once will not know which one worked. Measure these before the change, then monthly.

01No-show rate by appointment type, lead time and time of day, because the pattern is rarely uniform and the fix should go where the risk is.
02Reschedule rate, which should rise as no-shows fall. That is the mechanism working.
03Proportion of released slots refilled, and how long after release the refill happened.
04Revenue per available clinical hour, which is the figure that actually matters commercially.
05Share of patients with a verified mobile number and a reply on record, because a reminder to a dead number is a reminder to nobody.

Method and sources

This guide was first published in August 2026 and rebuilt on 14 September 2026. NHS activity figures are from NHS England Digital’s Hospital Outpatient Activity 2024-25 summary, published September 2025; the 2025-26 edition is due on 24 September 2026 and the figures will be updated when it appears. The reminder evidence is quoted from the abstracts of the papers named. NHS pilot results are NHS England’s own press releases, which report programme outcomes rather than controlled trials. Regulatory expectations are the CQC quality statement on equity in access, the CMA’s unfair contract terms guidance and the ICO’s direct marketing guidance, read at source. Software prices were read on each vendor’s own page in September 2026; where none is published the table says so. The worked example uses stated hypothetical figures and no client data.

NHS England Digital, Hospital Outpatient Activity 2024-25, summary report (Sep 2025) →NHS England, NHS pilots AI software to cut missed hospital appointments (Feb 2023) →NHS England, AI expansion to help tackle missed appointments (Mar 2024) →NHS England, nearly 1 in 4 have missed an appointment because they forgot (Mar 2026) →Robotham et al., BMJ Open, digital notifications and clinic attendance, meta-analysis (2016) →Gurol-Urganci et al., Cochrane Review, mobile phone messaging reminders for attendance (Dec 2013) →Tarabichi et al., Journal of General Internal Medicine, model-driven live reminders RCT (2023) →Siriwardana et al., BMJ Open Quality, telephone and text reminders in outpatient clinics (Jul 2026) →Werner et al., BMC Health Services Research, interventions to reduce non-attendance, systematic review (2023) →CQC, single assessment framework, quality statement: equity in access (read Sep 2026) →CMA, Unfair contract terms guidance CMA37, retention of prepayments (read Sep 2026) →ICO, direct marketing guidance: what are service messages (read Sep 2026) →Cliniko, pricing (read Sep 2026) →WriteUpp, pricing (read Sep 2026) →Pabau, pricing (read Sep 2026) →Meddbase, EMR software pricing and ROI (read Sep 2026) →Twilio, SMS pricing, United Kingdom (read Sep 2026) →Our prices, in full →

Common questions

What is a normal no-show rate for a clinic in the UK?

NHS England recorded a 5.6 per cent outpatient DNA rate in 2024-25, 8.1 million of 146.1 million appointments, down from 6.2 per cent in 2019-20. Individual trusts run higher; Mid and South Essex reported 8 per cent before its AI pilot and 12.2 per cent in its general surgery clinics. Private clinics rarely publish rates, so measure your own by appointment type and lead time.

Do appointment reminders actually reduce no-shows?

Yes, and it is one of the better-evidenced interventions in healthcare. A BMJ Open meta-analysis of 21 studies found patients receiving electronic reminders were 25 per cent less likely to no-show (15 per cent against 21 per cent). A Cochrane review found attendance rose from 67.8 per cent with no reminder to 78.6 per cent with a text. Multiple reminders work better than one.

Is a text reminder or a phone call better?

For the average patient they perform the same. The Cochrane review found text reminders and telephone reminders had a risk ratio of 0.99 against each other, with attendance of 78.6 per cent for text and 80.3 per cent for a call, and text was 55 to 65 per cent cheaper per attendance. Save the call for the bookings your data says are highest risk.

When should the reminder be sent?

More than once, and not only the day before. The NHS general surgery project that cut DNAs from 12.2 to 8.1 per cent sent automated texts five to seven days before and one day before. The earlier message is the one that converts a silent no-show into a reschedule, because there is still time to move the appointment.

Can a private clinic charge a cancellation fee or keep a deposit?

Yes, within limits. CMA guidance says a genuine deposit can be kept in full only if it is a binding reservation, the patient is told up front exactly when it would be lost, and it is not normally more than a small percentage of the price. A large non-refundable deposit with no exceptions, or a full-fee charge for any cancellation, is more likely to be an unfair term.

Does the CQC care about no-show policies?

Indirectly, yes. The CQC’s equity in access quality statement expects providers to make sure everyone can access care when they need it, and lists waiting times, delays and cancellations, digital exclusion and reasonable adjustments among what it assesses. A reminder system that only reaches smartphone users, or a deposit that excludes people, can become an inspection question.

Do I need marketing consent to send appointment reminders?

No. The ICO’s direct marketing guidance treats messages that confirm or remind people about appointments as service messages, not direct marketing, provided they contain nothing promotional. Adding an offer to the same message would make it marketing. Data protection law still applies to the contact data, so keep numbers accurate, record where they came from and let patients reply.

Does AI predict no-shows well enough to be worth it?

NHS England reported a 30 per cent reduction in DNAs over six months at Mid and South Essex using Deep Medical’s predictive system, with 1,910 extra patients seen, and is rolling it out to ten more trusts. The only randomised trial, in US primary care, found a three-point cut (36 to 33 per cent) from targeting live calls at model-flagged patients. For a small clinic, your own booking history identifies the risky slots without a model.

How much does reminder software cost for a UK clinic?

WriteUpp publishes £27.95 a month for a solo clinician including 100 SMS credits; Cliniko publishes $45 a month for one practitioner with SMS at 10 cents a message; Pabau, Semble and Meddbase price on demo. Raw SMS through Twilio is $0.056 a message to a UK mobile. Three messages per appointment at 400 appointments a month is under $120 in messaging on any of them.

What would it cost to have Augustova build this?

An AI adoption audit is £2,500 to £6,000 and is credited against a build. A first agent covering the reminder sequence, one-tap rescheduling and waiting-list refill is £4,000 to £15,000; a full AI receptionist integrated with your practice software is £8,000 to £25,000. Fixed price, excluding VAT, no day rates.

Read next

AI receptionist for UK businesses →Does AI phone calling actually work? →AI automation agency in London →What AI automation costs in the UK →Our prices, in full →

Talk about your diary

Tell us your no-show rate and what happens today when someone cancels. Those two answers usually point straight at the fix, and we will tell you what it would cost before anyone commits to anything.

Start a conversation →