Guides

How much does AI automation cost in the UK? Twelve agencies, one ladder.

By Zain M · 12 September 2026 · 11 min read

AI automation in the UK costs £800 to £5,000 for a first workflow or agent, £5,000 to £25,000 for a departmental system, and £20,000 to £50,000 or more for a multi-system programme, with audits from free to £2,000 and support retainers of £350 to £2,000 a month, based on twelve agencies’ published prices in 2026. Running costs are the part most quotes leave out.

First workflow or agent£800 to £5,000
Departmental system£5,000 to £25,000
Retainer£350 to £2,000 a month

Why the answer is a ladder, not a number

Ask an automation agency what it costs and the honest ones will ask what you want automated. That is not evasion. A single workflow that moves data from a form into a CRM is a different product from an agent that reads every application, scores it and books an interview, which is different again from a system that connects five departments. The market has quietly settled on a four-rung ladder for these, and once you know the rungs, every quote you receive can be placed on it.

We read every UK agency that publishes prices, plus the agencies Google’s own AI answers name for "who can build an AI agent for my business", and recorded what each charges at each rung. Then we did the part the agencies skip: what the thing costs to run every month afterwards, which in our own production systems has turned out to matter more than the build.

What twelve UK agencies publish, side by side

Prices as published in 2026, excluding VAT. Where a figure came from Google AI Mode’s answer rather than the agency’s own page, the source says so; those were captured on 11 September 2026.

Source and dateAuditFirst workflow or agentDepartment or systemProgrammeRetainer
AI Agency Plus, Jul 2026£500 to £2,000£1,500 to £5,000£5,000 to £20,000£20,000 to £50,000+; custom AI £50,000+£350 to £3,000 a month
Crownbot, Aug 2026£499, creditedFrom £800From £4,000From £15,000Optional care plan
London Axion, read Sep 2026FreePilot £2,000 to £10,000Not stated£10,000 to £50,000+DIY tools £50 to £200 a month
ElevateAI, Jul 2026FreePilot from £3,000To £25,000Not statedFrom £350 a month
The Automation Agency, read Sep 2026Process audit £1,500From £750QuotedNot statedNot stated
AI Agents London, via AI ModeAgent audit £1,995Deployment from £4,995Not statedNot stated£2,000 a month
AgentCraft-AI, via AI ModeNot stated£800 to £25,000 by scopeNot stated
Bloodstone Projects, via AI ModeNot statedFrom £3,500Not statedNot statedFrom £349 a month
AI Workforce, Aug 2026Not statedFrom £500 (simple)£3,000 to £10,000 (multi-step)Not statedNot stated
Ronins, read Sep 2026Workshop £3,000 to £8,500Not statedProof of concept £12,000 to £30,000From £30,000Not stated
Techcare, Neometa, Optura, AmpliflowNot statedNot statedTechcare £5,000 to £25,000Not stated£45 to £997 a month
Augustova£2,500 to £6,000, credited£4,000 to £15,000£8,000 to £25,000Quoted per phaseAgreed at go-live

All figures exclude VAT. TopTenAIAgents’ February 2026 survey of ten further agencies puts entry prices between £87 a week and £10,000, hourly rates at £80 to £200, and retainers at £600 to £1,950 a month, which sits inside the ranges above.

The four rungs, and what you get on each

Reconciled, the market looks like this. The spread column is there because an agency that quotes at the top of a band is not necessarily overcharging; it may be building more.

RungConsensus UK rangeWhat it usually containsSpread
Audit or process mappingFree to £2,000A session mapping how the work actually flows, a ranked shortlist, a costed recommendation. Often credited against the buildRonins £3,000 to £8,500 for a workshop; Augustova £2,500 to £6,000 (credited)
First workflow or single agent£800 to £5,000One process, connected to the tools you already use, live in one to three weeks, with a few weeks of supportFloor £500 to £750; London Axion pilot to £10,000; Augustova £4,000 to £15,000 for an agent integrated with several systems
Departmental system£5,000 to £25,000Several connected automations across a function, AI making judgement calls and routing, four to ten weeksCrownbot from £4,000; Ronins proof of concept £12,000 to £30,000
Multi-system programme or bespoke AI£20,000 to £50,000+Multi-department design, custom models on your data, staged rollout, three to six monthsCustom AI development from £50,000; Ronins from £30,000
Retainer£350 to £2,000 a monthMonitoring, fixes, small changes, a named person£45 (Optura) to £3,000 (top of AI Agency Plus)

What one AI agent costs, to build and to run

The question Google shows most often under this search is "how much does one AI agent cost", so here is the direct answer. To build: £800 to £5,000 if the agent does one thing and talks to one system; £4,000 to £15,000 if it has to read messy inputs and update several systems with a person approving the risky steps. The price is set by the integrations and the mess, not by the AI.

To run: pennies per task for the model. AI Agency Plus puts realistic model usage for a small business at £5 to £100 a month, and that matches what we see. The expensive part is whatever the agent does after it decides. A text message costs 4 to 5p. A minute of AI voice costs 15 to 20p. An agent that sends a thousand messages a month spends more on messages than on thinking. In our own recruitment platform, language model calls have been a single-digit share of variable AI spend, and messaging the largest line.

The running costs almost nobody quotes

Most automation runs on one of three platforms or on code an agency writes. The platforms bill per operation, and the same workflow can cost eight times more on one than another once it is busy. These are the published prices in 2026, in the currency each vendor bills in; UK buyers add 20 per cent VAT.

LinePublished figureNote
ZapierFree for 100 tasks a month; Professional about $20 to $30 a month for 750 tasks; Team about $69 to $104 for 2,000Costs climb steeply past 1,000 tasks. A ten-step workflow at 10,000 runs a month: roughly £250 to £400+
MakeFree for 1,000 operations; Core about $10.59 a month for 10,000The same ten-step workflow: roughly £150 to £200 a month
n8nCloud Starter $20 a month for 2,500 executions with unlimited steps; Pro $50 for 10,000; self-hosted £5 to £15 a month in server costThe same workflow: about $50 a month. Unlimited steps per execution is why
Model usage£5 to £100 a month for a small businessRises with volume and with document length, not with the number of users
SMS4 to 5p per messageThe largest running cost of any agent that chases people
AI voice15 to 20p per minuteIncluding the minutes spent reaching voicemail
Support retainer£350 to £3,000 a monthOr nothing, if you own the system and have the runbook

Platform prices from the vendors’ own pages and 2026 pricing guides; per-message and per-minute figures from AI Agency Plus, consistent with UK carrier and voice-platform pricing.

The arithmetic the market avoids: an agent that dials

Here is why the running cost has to be modelled before the build is priced. Our platform makes outbound AI screening calls to job applicants. Over a ten-week production window, about half of those calls reached voicemail, a quarter never connected, and roughly one in eight reached a person. When a person answered, the conversation ran a little over three minutes and nineteen in twenty produced a usable, scored assessment.

Now price it at the published rates. Suppose an agency builds you an agent that dials a thousand applicants a month. If every call cost a full minute of voice time, that is £150 to £200 in voice alone, most of it spent on calls nobody answered. The one hundred and twenty-five people who did answer cost £60 to £75 in call time and produced the outcomes. The other eight hundred and seventy-five cost more than that and produced nothing, unless the agent sends a text in the same minute with a link to finish by chat, which costs 4 to 5p each and recovers a good share of them.

That is the difference between an automation that pays back and one that quietly burns a budget. A quote that gives you a build price and no running-cost model has not done this sum. Ask for it.

Three worked examples, priced from the bands

Illustrations built from the consensus figures, not client accounts.

01Invoice chasing for a twenty-person accountancy practice: a first workflow that watches the ledger, drafts the chaser, waits for a person to approve, and sends it. Build £1,500 to £5,000; run £40 to £150 a month on a low-code platform plus a few pounds of model usage. Pays back inside the first quarter if it recovers two hours a week.
02Applicant follow-up for a recruitment agency: a sequence that messages by SMS and email, stops the moment the person replies, and never contacts anyone on the do-not-contact list. Build £4,000 to £15,000 because it touches the ATS, the calendar and two channels; run £200 to £600 a month at a thousand applicants, most of it messages.
03A voice and chat screening agent for a care provider hiring at volume: dials within minutes of an application, screens, scores, books, and falls back to chat. A departmental system at £8,000 to £25,000; run £400 to £900 a month at a thousand applicants, dominated by voice minutes and messages, which is why the fallback is designed before the voice.

n8n, Make, Zapier or code: where the crossover is

Low-code platforms are the right answer for a lot of automation: connecting two well-supported apps, moving data on a trigger, a workflow your own team should be able to edit. They are the wrong answer when the logic is complex, the volume is high, the inputs are messy or a failure is expensive. The cost crossover is easy to spot from the table above. Once a workflow is running tens of thousands of operations a month, a per-operation platform can cost £3,000 to £5,000 a year in fees for something a built system runs for the price of a small server. Below that volume, the platform is cheaper and faster to change.

The agency should tell you which it is using and why, and you should own it either way, including the accounts. A retainer that exists mainly because the agency holds the login is not support; it is rent.

Is it worth it? The hours, costed

The Office for National Statistics found in June 2026 that about 35 per cent of UK businesses with ten or more employees use AI in some form, but that only one adopter in ten uses it extensively; most are using a tool, not running a system. The commonest barrier is expertise, not money. The money question is easier than people think, because the hours are already known.

Sage puts UK small business owners at fifteen hours a week on admin. HeyBRB’s March 2026 survey puts repetitive admin at eight hours a week, or ten working weeks a year, and found that 83 per cent of owners had never calculated what that costs. At £30 an hour, eight hours a week is £12,480 a year for one person. A £3,000 automation that removes half of it pays for itself in about six months, before counting the work that gets done instead. That is the calculation an audit should hand you, with your numbers in it.

The compliance costs that belong in the quote

Any agent that calls or messages people is regulated. It needs consent or another lawful basis, an opt-out honoured on every channel, a clear statement that the person is dealing with an AI, and a do-not-contact list it never breaches. Building that in costs days at the start; retrofitting it after the first complaint costs a great deal more. If you trade with EU customers the EU AI Act adds transparency duties for AI that interacts with people. Ask any agency how these are handled before you ask what it costs, because the answer changes the price.

Questions to ask an automation agency

01Which rung of the ladder is this quote on, and what would the next rung up cost?
02What will it cost to run per month at my volume, including messages, minutes and platform fees?
03Which platform or codebase, and who owns the accounts and the prompts at the end?
04What share of your outbound calls or messages reach a person, and what happens when they do not?
05Where does a person stay in the loop, and who decided that?
06What does the retainer cover, and what breaks if I cancel it?
07Can I see an agent you run in production, with the numbers?
08How are consent, opt-outs and the do-not-contact list enforced?

How Augustova prices it

Since we are a row in the table: an automation audit at £2,500 to £6,000, credited in full against the build; a single agent or workflow at £4,000 to £15,000; a multi-agent system at £8,000 to £25,000; all fixed against a written scope. Running costs are stated before go-live and capped in production, because we run the same agents in our own products and pay the same per-message and per-minute prices you will.

Method and sources

We searched Google UK for the question and its variants on 11 and 12 September 2026, read every page-one result and every UK agency pricing page they linked to, and recorded each published figure with its date. We added the agencies and prices that Google’s AI Mode named in its own answers on 11 September, marked as such. Platform prices are from the vendors and from 2026 pricing guides; per-message and per-minute figures are from AI Agency Plus and match UK carrier and voice-platform pricing. The call-outcome shares are from our own production platform over a ten-week window and are published in full in the linked guide. Adoption and admin figures are from the ONS, Sage and HeyBRB. All prices exclude VAT. The date at the top of this page is the date of the last check.

AI Agency Plus, how much AI automation costs in the UK (Jul 2026) →Crownbot, pricing (Aug 2026) →London Axion, AI automation agency UK (read Sep 2026) →ElevateAI, best AI automation agencies UK 2026 (Jul 2026) →The Automation Agency, AI automation agency UK (read Sep 2026) →AI Workforce, AI automation cost UK 2026 (Aug 2026) →Ronins, AI agency and consultancy pages (read Sep 2026) →TopTenAIAgents, top 10 UK AI agencies for SMEs (Feb 2026) →n8n, plans and pricing (read Sep 2026) →Zapier pricing 2026, UK guide (Softomate) →Make.com pricing explained (2026) →ONS, Artificial intelligence in UK businesses 2023 to 2026 (Jul 2026) →DSIT, UK Business Data Survey 2026 (Jun 2026) →Sage UK small business admin research, via SmallBusiness.co.uk (2025) →HeyBRB, UK Admin Drain Report (Mar 2026) →

Common questions

How much do AI automation agencies charge in the UK?

Published 2026 prices from twelve agencies: audits from free to £2,000, a first workflow or agent £800 to £5,000, a departmental system £5,000 to £25,000, multi-system programmes £20,000 to £50,000 and up, and retainers of £350 to £2,000 a month, all excluding VAT.

How much does one AI agent cost?

To build, £800 to £5,000 for a single-task agent on one system, or £4,000 to £15,000 for one that reads messy inputs and updates several systems with human approval. To run, pennies per task for the model plus whatever it sends: 4 to 5p a text, 15 to 20p a minute of voice.

What does AI automation cost to run per month?

For a small business, £5 to £100 of model usage, £10 to £400 of platform fees depending on the tool and volume, and the per-message or per-minute cost of any channel the agent uses. Support retainers add £350 to £2,000 a month if you want one.

Is Zapier, Make or n8n cheapest?

At low volume they are all cheap. At 10,000 runs a month of a ten-step workflow, published guides put Zapier at roughly £250 to £400 a month, Make at £150 to £200, and n8n cloud at about $50, with self-hosted n8n at £5 to £15 of server cost. Past tens of thousands of operations, built code is cheaper than any of them.

Is there an AI automation agency in the UK?

Hundreds, from one-person specialists to boutiques and consultancies. The twelve in the table above all publish prices, which is the first filter worth applying; the second is whether they can show you something running in production.

How much does AI cost in the UK for a small business?

A first automation at £800 to £5,000 plus £50 to £250 a month to run is the realistic entry point. The ONS finds only 7 to 14 per cent of businesses cite cost as a barrier; the commoner problem is not knowing what to automate first, which is what an audit is for.

Is a monthly retainer worth it?

If it buys monitoring, fixes and a named person for a system you rely on, yes, at £350 to £2,000 a month. If it exists because the agency holds the accounts and you cannot leave, no. Insist on owning the system and the runbook, then decide.

How long does AI automation take to build?

A first workflow one to three weeks; a departmental system four to ten weeks; a programme three to six months, according to the published timelines. Most delay is decisions waiting on somebody, not engineering.

Is AI calling and messaging legal in the UK?

Yes, within PECR and UK GDPR: consent or a lawful basis, an opt-out honoured everywhere, a clear statement that it is an AI, and no contact with anyone on your do-not-contact list. Build it in from the start; it is cheaper than the alternative.

How does Augustova price automation?

Audit £2,500 to £6,000, credited against the build; a single agent £4,000 to £15,000; a multi-agent system £8,000 to £25,000; fixed price, running costs stated before go-live and capped in production. Inside the consensus bands above, at the higher-integration end of the first rung because our agents connect to several systems.

Read next

AI automation agency in London →AI consultancy in London →Does AI phone calling actually work? →What an AI feature costs to run →

Want the running-cost sum for your case?

Tell us what the work is and roughly how much of it there is each month. A founder will tell you which rung it sits on, what it would cost to build and to run, and whether an off-the-shelf tool would do instead.

Start a conversation →