MVP development in London, fixed price, live in four to six weeks.
Augustova builds startup MVPs in London for £10,000 to £20,000, fixed against a written scope, and launches them in four to six weeks. An MVP here means one core workflow a paying user will actually use, sign-up and accounts, payments, an admin view for the founder and analytics, with AI features and usage metering built in where the product needs them. The code and accounts are in your name from day one. We built and run two products of our own, Onrolo and GoRizzume.
Fixed prices, agreed in writing before anything is built
What an MVP should include, and what it should leave out
An MVP is the one product where the buyer knows the word before they know the price, and where the market has settled on a shape: one core workflow a paying user will actually use, sign-up and accounts, a way to take money, an admin view for the founder, and enough instrumentation to learn from the first hundred users. Everything else is a second phase. The failure mode is the opposite: six months and a feature list, launched to nobody.
What is not in an MVP matters as much. We will not build a native iOS and Android app into a first release unless the product cannot exist without it; a responsive web app reaches the same users for a third of the cost and can be wrapped later. We will not build a second user type, a marketplace, or an integration marketplace into a first release either. Those are the things founders are quoted £40,000 for, and they are the reason most MVPs miss the money they were meant to raise.
What a startup MVP costs in London
We price a startup MVP at £10,000 to £20,000, fixed against a written scope, and take four to six weeks to a launch that real users can pay for. That sits where the London market sits. Magora, a London studio since 2010, publishes "Startup MVP: from £10,000" and "MVP in 6 to 8 weeks". Coderacle, also London, publishes a £15,000 fixed-price production SaaS MVP with a median of eight weeks to launch. Wider surveys of London software firms put an MVP higher again: Red Eagle Tech publishes £10,000 to £35,000 and Square Root Solutions £25,000 to £80,000.
The difference is not the number. It is that we have launched two products of our own and run them every day, so the architecture your MVP is built on is the one we would choose for ourselves, with cost instrumentation and billing metering in from the first commit rather than retrofitted at scale.
| London studio | Published MVP price | Time to launch | Code and accounts | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Augustova | £10,000 to £20,000, fixed against a written scope | Four to six weeks | In your name from day one, with the provider accounts | Built on the stack we run our own products on; billing metering and cost ceilings included |
| Magora | From £10,000 | Six to eight weeks | IP transfers on payment | London-based since 2010; larger team, wider range of work |
| Coderacle | £15,000 fixed | Eight to twelve weeks, eight-week median | Code in your GitHub from day one | Dedicated PM, senior developer and designer per build |
| Red Eagle Tech | £10,000 to £35,000 | Not stated | Not stated | Published on its own site, updated March 2026 |
| Square Root Solutions | £25,000 to £80,000 | Not stated | Not stated | Published on its own site, February 2026 |
Competitor figures read on their own pages on 14 September 2026; prices exclude VAT where stated. All are credible choices; we list them because a founder should compare.
How it runs, week by week
Week one: the scope and the acceptance criteria in writing, the one workflow agreed, and working software on real data before the week is out. Weeks two to four: the core workflow, sign-up and accounts, and payments, with a demo every week so nothing arrives as a surprise. Week five: the admin view, analytics and error tracking, then testing with real users, including the awkward cases. Week six: launch, handover of the repository, accounts and runbook, and a plan for what to learn from the first users.
Most delays on a first product are decisions waiting on somebody, not engineering. That is why one named contact on each side, a written scope and a weekly demo matter more than the size of the team.
AI in an MVP: when to add it, and what it costs to run
Add a model when it does the job the product exists for: reading a document, scoring a CV, drafting a reply, answering a question from your own data. Do not add one because investors like the word. An AI feature has a running cost per user that a conventional feature does not, and an MVP priced per seat can lose money on its heaviest users without anybody noticing.
So every AI feature we build into an MVP is attributed to a customer and a feature from the first release, with a spending ceiling that has been watched firing before launch. The small model does most of the work; in our own products, moving one high-volume feature from the frontier model to the small one made it several times cheaper and faster with no drop in success.
MVPs we launched for ourselves
GoRizzume is an AI career platform we built and run: CV scoring against a specific advert, spoken interview practice and a UK licensed sponsor register of more than 120,000 sponsors, refreshed every day. It started as a web product, then added iOS and Android apps and a browser extension, and it is licensed to institutions by seat as well as sold to individuals.
Onrolo is a recruitment operations platform we built and run, on web, iOS and Android, in daily use across a national recruitment network. It removes 90 or more hours of manual CV screening per office every month, and eight in ten applicants reach a booked appointment.
Both carry usage metering wired into billing and every model call attributed to a feature and a customer. That is the architecture your MVP starts on.
Who owns it, and what an investor will ask
The repository, the hosting and the provider accounts are in your name from day one, not on final payment. At launch you receive documentation, credentials, a runbook and a recorded walkthrough, so another developer could pick the product up without speaking to us.
That is also what technical due diligence checks: who owns the code and the accounts, whether the history is in your repository, what the product costs to run per user, and whether anyone other than the original builder could maintain it. We build so that each of those questions has a short answer.
Compared with the other ways to build a first product
There are four common routes to an MVP in London. The right one depends on how much you can specify, how quickly you need to launch, and how much you need to own at the end.
| Freelancer | Offshore agency | Hiring in-house | Augustova | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price model | Day rate, often £400 to £800 | Hourly or monthly | Salary, recruitment and equipment | Fixed, £10,000 to £20,000 |
| Time to launch | Depends on one person | Varies | Months before the first line of code | Four to six weeks |
| Who owns the code | Usually you, at the end | Check the contract | You | You, from day one |
| Payments and metering | Often a later job | Often a later job | Depends on the hire | In the first release |
| Runs its own products | Rarely | Rarely | Not applicable | Two, in production |
Who you would be working with
Leads requirements, data strategy and analysis across client engagements, and heads the career products line.
Designs and builds the platforms end to end, from data architecture to mobile release, and owns everything in production.
Brings the operator view to every build and leads client delivery across the recruitment network.
Office 1856, 60 Tottenham Court Road
Fitzrovia, London W1T 2EW
020 3432 4554
Company number 17216706. ICO registration ZC152144. In person across Greater London, remote across the UK, on the same terms.
Common questions
How much does it cost to build an MVP in London?
London studios that publish prices put a startup MVP at £10,000 to £15,000 and up: Magora from £10,000, Coderacle £15,000 fixed, with wider surveys running to £35,000 or more. Augustova builds a startup MVP for £10,000 to £20,000, fixed against a written scope, covering one core workflow, accounts, payments, an admin view and analytics. Native mobile apps, a second user type and marketplace features are quoted as later phases.
How long does an MVP take to build?
Four to six weeks to a launch that users can pay for, with working software shown in the first week and a demo every week after. Published London timelines are six to eight weeks (Magora) and eight to twelve (Coderacle). The time goes on the one workflow and the payments; it grows when a second user type or a native app is added, which is why we keep those out of a first release.
What do MVP development services include?
At Augustova: one core workflow end to end, sign-up and accounts for one user type, payments through Stripe with metering, an admin view, analytics and error tracking, and a documented codebase in your repository, handed over with the accounts, credentials and a runbook on launch day.
Can you build an AI MVP?
Yes, when AI does the job the product exists for. Every AI feature is attributed to a customer and a feature from the first release, with a spending ceiling tested before launch, so the running cost per user is known before you set a price.
Should I build a web app or a mobile app first?
Usually a responsive web app. It reaches the same users for a fraction of the cost and can be wrapped or followed by native iOS and Android apps once people are paying. Build native first only when the product cannot exist without the phone, for example offline use or device hardware.
What is the difference between fixed price and time and materials?
Time and materials bills for the hours spent, so the estimating risk sits with you. Fixed price agrees the scope and the price in writing before work starts, with a list of what is not included, so the risk sits with the supplier. We only work fixed price; anything new discovered mid-build is written up and quoted as a later phase.
Will investors accept an MVP built by an agency?
They will look at who owns the code and accounts, whether the history is in your repository, what the product costs to run, and whether someone else could maintain it. With us the code and accounts are yours from day one and the handover includes documentation and a runbook, so those questions have short answers.
Who owns the code?
You do, from day one: the repository, the hosting and the provider accounts are in your name, and at launch you receive documentation, credentials, a runbook and a recorded walkthrough.
What happens after launch?
Either you take the runbook and carry on yourselves or with another developer, or we quote the next phase against what the first users have shown. Support is a separate, clearly priced monthly arrangement agreed in the same document as the build.
Book a free MVP scoping call
Tell us the one workflow your first users will pay for. A founder replies personally, usually within one working day, with a fixed price and a written scope, or an honest reason to wait.