Guides

How much does custom software cost in the UK? Seven firms, one measured day rate.

By Zain M · Updated 14 September 2026 · 12 min read

Custom software in the UK costs £3,000 to £10,000 for a single automated process, £10,000 to £30,000 for a simple internal tool, £12,000 to £80,000 for a business application with integrations, and £60,000 to £200,000 or more for a platform, based on seven UK firms’ published 2026 prices. The measured contract day rate for a developer is £525.

Single process or integration£3,000 to £10,000
Business application£12,000 to £80,000
Measured developer day rate£525 median (IT Jobs Watch)
Maintenance15 to 25 per cent of build a year

Why the published answers disagree by a factor of ten

Search the question and the first page of results will tell you that custom software costs anything from £5,000 to £600,000. Every one of those pages is right about its own customers and wrong about yours. A Suffolk agency that builds booking systems for gyms, a Wiltshire consultancy that builds job costing tools for trades, and a Manchester firm that builds enterprise platforms are describing three different products under one name, and their floors and ceilings barely overlap.

So rather than add another opinion, we read every UK firm that publishes bespoke software prices in 2026, recorded each figure with its date, and put them in one table. Then we did what the other guides do not: we set the quoted day rates against the only measured figure that exists, the rate actually agreed on software developer contracts, tracked by IT Jobs Watch from live postings. That gap is the most useful number in this guide, because it lets you reverse any fixed quote into the days it implies.

Two things to hold on to as you read. All prices exclude VAT unless stated, and the smaller firms in the table are more likely to quote a figure that already includes design and testing, while the larger ones price those separately. And a day rate on its own tells you nothing; the day rate multiplied by the number of days nobody has written down is the price, and the number of days is the thing this guide gives you a way to check.

What seven UK firms publish, side by side

These are the firms whose own pages state prices, as read on 14 September 2026. The dates matter: four of the seven pages were written or updated in the last six months, which is why the smaller figures here are lower than guides from 2024 would suggest. Where a firm quotes a market range rather than its own price, that is what we recorded.

Source and dateSmallest buildBusiness applicationPlatform or enterpriseRates quotedOngoing
Red Eagle Tech, London, upd. Mar 2026Simple internal tool £10,000 to £30,000; MVP £10,000 to £35,000; API integration £5,000 to £50,000Customer portal or web app £30,000 to £80,000; bespoke CRM £35,000 to £100,000Enterprise £100,000 to £500,000+Senior developer £550 to £750 a day; architect £600 to £900; junior £250 to £350Maintenance 15 to 25 per cent of build a year
SWF Consultancy, Wiltshire, Apr 2026Focused module or integration £3,000 to £8,000Full application, three to five modules, £12,000 to £30,000Enterprise system with legacy migration £30,000 to £80,000+Not statedHosting £30 to £150 a month
Square Root Solutions, London, Feb 2026Small business software £15,000 to £40,000MVP £25,000 to £80,000; custom SME platform £60,000 to £150,000Enterprise £150,000 to £500,000+£60 to £120 an hour; £6,000 to £12,000 per developer per monthMaintenance 15 to 25 per cent a year; cloud £200 to £2,000 a month
Fulminous Software, London, Jan 2026Basic app £5,000 to £15,000Medium £20,000 to £60,000; web applications £8,000 to £60,000+Enterprise £80,000+; SaaS £30,000 to £150,000+Senior developer £70 to £120 an hour; UK £50 to £120Maintenance 10 per cent of budget
Jabu Designs, Suffolk, Jul 2026Focused tool £5,000 to £10,000Standard multi-user build £15,000 to £30,000Complex platform £35,000 to £75,000; SaaS-grade £75,000 to £200,000+Not statedHosting £30 to £200 a month; support £250 to £750 a month
TotalSoft IT Solutions, London, May 2026Simple internal tool £10,000 to £25,000Mid-market system £25,000 to £60,000Enterprise SaaS £60,000+Central London agency £800 to £1,200 a day (market)Not stated
Make IT Simple, Manchester, Mar 2026Small bespoke tool £20,000 to £60,000Mid-range platform £60,000 to £200,000Complex enterprise £200,000 to £600,000+£75 to £150 an hour outside London; £100 to £175 in LondonMaintenance 15 to 20 per cent a year
Augustova, LondonSingle process £4,000 to £10,000, fixedBusiness application £10,000 to £20,000, fixedPlatform with mobile £20,000 to £30,000+, fixed per phaseDoes not sell daysSupport priced separately at go-live

All figures exclude VAT. "Market" means the firm was describing the wider market rather than its own price. Read on the dates shown; prices change, and we will update the table when they do.

The consensus, with the disagreements left in

Reconciling seven sources is mostly a matter of noticing when two firms describe the same thing under different names. A "focused module" at SWF, a "focused tool" at Jabu and a "basic app" at Fulminous are one product. Once the labels are lined up, the market agrees on more than the headline spread suggests, and the outliers are explained by who each firm sells to.

What you are buyingConsensus UK rangeWhere sources disagree
A single process, module or integration: one workflow, one or two user types, one system connected£3,000 to £10,000Red Eagle and TotalSoft start at £10,000; Make IT Simple’s floor is £20,000 for anything
A simple internal tool: replaces spreadsheets, one or two roles, basic reporting£10,000 to £30,000Square Root starts at £15,000; Jabu and SWF finish at £30,000
A business application: several user types, integrations with the systems you own, automated workflows£12,000 to £80,000SWF’s full application tops out at £30,000; Red Eagle’s customer portal runs to £80,000; TotalSoft £25,000 to £60,000
A platform or SaaS product: multi-tenant, polished, scalable£60,000 to £200,000+Jabu’s complex platform starts at £35,000; Square Root’s custom SME platform at £60,000
An enterprise system with legacy migration£100,000 to £600,000+SWF puts it at £30,000 to £80,000+, which reflects SME-scale "enterprise"
A senior developer’s day£550 to £750 quoted; £800 to £1,200 at a central London agencyThe measured contract median is £525; nine contracts in ten settle below £613
Maintenance and support15 to 25 per cent of build cost a yearMake IT Simple 15 to 20; Jabu £250 to £750 a month as a flat retainer
Hosting£30 to £200 a monthSquare Root £200 to £2,000 for larger systems

What the measured market says, and why quoted rates run high

Every guide in the table quotes day rates. IT Jobs Watch measures them, from the rates attached to live contract postings. In the six months to 14 September 2026 the median day rate for a software developer contract in the UK was £525, up 5 per cent on £500 a year earlier, across 431 postings. The tenth percentile was £365 and the ninetieth £613. London is barely different: a median of £529 across 83 postings, with a ninetieth percentile of £709.

Set that against the £800 to £1,200 a day that TotalSoft attributes to central London agencies, or Red Eagle’s £600 to £900 for an architect. The gap is not dishonesty. An agency day includes a project manager, a designer, testing, the office, and the margin that pays for the weeks between projects. But it means a fixed price from an agency implies fewer engineering days than the same price from a contractor, and you should know which you are buying.

The useful trick is to reverse it. Divide any fixed quote by the measured median of £525 and you get the number of contractor days it would buy. A £18,000 application is 34 days of one developer at market rate. If a quote for the same scope implies 80 days, either the scope is bigger than you think or the price is. Ask which.

How a day rate becomes a fixed price

A fixed price is a supplier’s estimate of days, multiplied by their rate, plus the contingency they carry for being wrong. Two of the seven firms publish how that total splits across the work, and their splits agree closely. Square Root puts discovery and technical planning at 5 to 10 per cent of the project, backend and frontend engineering at 40 to 60 per cent, and testing and compliance at 10 to 20 per cent, with design priced separately at £3,000 to £20,000. Fulminous puts discovery at 10 per cent, design 15, development 50, testing 10, deployment 5 and maintenance 10.

That means roughly half of any fixed price is engineers writing code, and the other half is the work that decides whether the code is right: discovery, design, testing and handover. A quote that is all engineering has skipped the half that prevents the expensive rebuild. It also means a quote can be sanity-checked line by line: on a £20,000 application, expect around £1,000 to £2,000 of discovery, £8,000 to £12,000 of engineering, and £2,000 to £4,000 of testing.

The reason fixed price is the better buy is not that it is cheaper. It is that the estimating risk sits with the party able to judge it. A day rate pays a supplier for being slow and transfers every mis-estimate to you, the party least able to judge whether the estimate was reasonable. The catch is that a fixed price only works when both sides accept a written list of what is not included, and many buyers find that document uncomfortable. It is protecting you more than it protects the supplier, because everything on it is a change you would otherwise have paid for twice.

A worked example: a job costing application, priced three ways

Take a fourteen-person building services firm that quotes, schedules and invoices from spreadsheets and a shared inbox. It wants one application: office staff raise and price jobs, engineers see their day on a phone and log materials, customers open a link to approve a quote, and every invoice lands in Xero without rekeying. Three user types, one integration, one PDF generator, nothing that has to run unattended overnight. This is an illustration built from the published figures, not a client account.

Priced from days first. A plausible plan is three days of discovery, four of design, twenty-two of build, six for the Xero integration and quote approval flow, five of testing and two of handover: 42 days. At the measured median of £525 that is £22,050. At Red Eagle’s senior developer rate of £550 to £750 it is £23,100 to £31,500. At TotalSoft’s central London agency band of £800 to £1,200 it is £33,600 to £50,400 for the same days.

Now priced from the published bands. SWF’s own worked example of a job costing system is £18,000 over eight weeks, and its full-application band is £12,000 to £30,000. Red Eagle’s example of a property scheduler with a similar shape is £18,000 in six weeks. TotalSoft’s mid-market band with API integrations is £25,000 to £60,000. Augustova would price it as a business application at £10,000 to £20,000 fixed, or at the low end of a platform if the engineers’ phone view must be a store-published app. The spread from the cheapest credible number to the most expensive is roughly three to one, and every figure in it is defensible. What differs is the size of team, the amount of process, and where the risk sits.

What moves a quote, in order of how much

The published guides agree on the drivers even where they disagree on the numbers, and the agreement is worth more than any single price band, because it tells you which questions a supplier will ask before quoting and which answers push the quote into the next band. These are the drivers that change a price by thousands rather than hundreds, in roughly the order of how much they move it, with the published figure that shows the size of the effect where one exists.

01Native mobile apps. TotalSoft says building for both iOS and Android usually doubles the front-end cost against a responsive web app; Red Eagle puts a cross-platform app at roughly 60 to 75 per cent of the cost of two native ones, and a native pair at £50,000 to £125,000 against £25,000 to £75,000 cross-platform.
02Integrations with systems you already own. Red Eagle prices an API or system integration alone at £5,000 to £50,000, and TotalSoft names legacy systems and undocumented APIs as the single largest cost driver. The range is wide because the quality of the other system’s API decides it, not your supplier.
03Data migration. Moving thousands of messy records out of an old system into a clean one is a project in its own right, and the guides that name it (TotalSoft, SWF) put it at the top of the list of things that push a quote into the next band.
04Number of user types and permission levels. One role is simple; three roles seeing different data are more than three times the work, because every screen and every rule is now conditional.
05Compliance. Square Root and Red Eagle both flag regulated data (health, finance) as a band-changer; Red Eagle’s app guide puts regulated products in the £80,000 to £300,000 tier on the strength of it.
06How much of the process is already written down. Undocumented processes are discovered during the build, and discovery is the expensive way to find requirements. SWF and Jabu both sell a structured discovery phase for this reason.

Is it worth it? The published payback arithmetic

Two of the seven firms show their working on return, which is rarer than it should be. SWF’s example: two members of staff each spend four hours a week on a task the software removes, which is 400 hours a year, or about £10,000 of recoverable capacity, so a £15,000 system pays for itself in eighteen months. Jabu compares a fifteen-user SaaS stack at £1,400 to £1,800 a month, which is £84,000 to £108,000 over five years, against a £25,000 custom build plus £120 a month of hosting, which is £26,400 in year one and £32,000 over five years, or £51,200 with £400 a month of support. Break-even lands in month fifteen to twenty-four.

Both sums only work when the hours are real and measurable. The honest test before you commission anything is whether you can name the people, the task and the hours. If you cannot, buy the off-the-shelf tool for a year and count. The DSIT Business Data Survey 2026 found 31 per cent of UK businesses use a public cloud provider such as AWS, Azure or Google Cloud, which is roughly the share for whom a bespoke build is a realistic operational step rather than a first encounter with hosting.

Questions that tell you whether a quote is real, and how we answer them

Since we are one of the rows in the table, here is how Augustova answers its own questions. Bespoke software is £8,000 to £30,000 as a fixed price per phase, on a ladder of a single process at £4,000 to £10,000, a business application at £10,000 to £20,000, a startup MVP at £10,000 to £20,000, and a platform with mobile apps at £20,000 to £30,000 and up. Every phase has a written scope and an explicit list of exclusions; a new idea becomes a new phase rather than a delay. You own the code and the accounts from day one, and handover includes documentation, credentials, a runbook and a recorded walkthrough. We do not sell days, for the reasons the measured market makes obvious.

01How many days does this assume, and at what rate? Then divide the quote by £525 and compare.
02What is explicitly not included? A supplier without a ready list has not scoped it.
03What happens if it takes longer than you thought? On a fixed price the answer should be "nothing, that is our problem".
04Who owns the code, the repository and the hosting accounts, and from when? Day one is the correct answer.
05What does it cost to run per month: hosting, third-party services and, if AI is involved, model usage per user?
06What do we get at handover? Documentation, credentials, a runbook and a recorded walkthrough is the minimum.
07Which of the seven firms’ bands is this quote in, and why?

Method and sources

We searched Google UK for the question and its variants on 13 and 14 September 2026, read every UK software firm on the first pages that publishes bespoke software prices, and recorded each figure with its date. Where a firm gave a range for the wider market rather than its own price, we recorded it as such. We excluded pages that quote no figures and directories that aggregate unverifiable estimates. Consensus bands are the overlap of the majority of sources; the disagreement column records the outliers rather than hiding them.

Measured contract rates are IT Jobs Watch’s, from live UK postings in the six months to 14 September 2026. Cloud adoption is from the DSIT UK Business Data Survey 2026, with fieldwork from October 2025 to January 2026. The worked example is an illustration built from the published figures and a plausible day plan; it is not a client account. All prices exclude VAT. The date at the top of this page is the date of the last check, and we will revise the tables as the sources change.

Red Eagle Tech, Bespoke software cost UK (Nov 2025, upd. Mar 2026) →Red Eagle Tech, App development cost UK (Apr 2026) →SWF Consultancy, How much does bespoke software cost (Apr 2026) →Square Root Solutions, Cost to build software in the UK (Feb 2026) →Fulminous Software, Software development cost in the UK (Jan 2026) →Jabu Designs, How much does bespoke software cost (Jul 2026) →Jabu Designs, How much does a custom booking system cost (May 2026) →TotalSoft IT Solutions, How much does custom software cost in the UK (May 2026) →Make IT Simple, How much does bespoke software cost in the UK (Mar 2026) →IT Jobs Watch, Software Developer contract rates, UK, six months to 14 Sep 2026 →IT Jobs Watch, Software Developer contract rates, London, six months to 14 Sep 2026 →DSIT, UK Business Data Survey 2026 (Jun 2026) →

Common questions

How much does custom software cost for a small business in the UK?

Published 2026 prices put a single automated process or integration at £3,000 to £10,000, a simple internal tool at £10,000 to £30,000, and a business application with integrations at £12,000 to £80,000, excluding VAT. Most small business projects sit in the first two bands. Larger platforms run to £200,000 and enterprise systems beyond that.

Is £10,000 a realistic budget for custom software?

Yes, for a focused build. Four of the seven UK firms we surveyed will build a single process, module or integration for under £10,000, and SWF’s published example of a stock management module is £4,500 in three weeks. It buys one workflow automated properly, not a broad platform. Most successful projects start there and expand once the first piece is earning.

What is a software developer’s day rate in the UK?

The measured contract median is £525 a day in the six months to 14 September 2026, according to IT Jobs Watch, with nine in ten contracts below £613; London is £529. Agencies quote more: Red Eagle lists senior developers at £550 to £750 and architects at £600 to £900, and TotalSoft puts central London agencies at £800 to £1,200 a day.

How much does software development cost per hour in the UK?

Published 2026 hourly rates cluster at £50 to £120 for UK developers (Fulminous, Square Root), £75 to £150 outside London and £100 to £175 in London (Make IT Simple). Junior developers are quoted at £30 to £45 an hour and seniors at £70 to £95 by Red Eagle. Divide any quote by these to see the hours it implies.

How much does it cost to maintain custom software each year?

Three of the seven firms put maintenance at 15 to 25 per cent of the original build cost per year; Make IT Simple says 15 to 20. On a £20,000 build that is £3,000 to £5,000 a year. Hosting is separate at £30 to £200 a month for a typical SME system, and some firms sell a flat support retainer of £250 to £750 a month instead.

Why are offshore quotes so much lower?

Lower cost bases and often a different definition of finished. Fulminous publishes the gap directly: UK developers at £50 to £120 an hour against £30 to £60 in Eastern Europe and £15 to £40 in India. The difference tends to reappear in integration, documentation and who fixes it in month three, so compare what is included rather than the headline.

How much does an MVP cost to build in the UK?

Published ranges are £10,000 to £35,000 (Red Eagle), £25,000 to £80,000 (Square Root) and £15,000 to £30,000 for a standard multi-user build (Jabu). The spread reflects how minimal the MVP really is, and the word doing the work is minimal. Augustova prices a startup MVP at £10,000 to £20,000 fixed, which assumes a genuinely small first release with one user type.

Should I pay a fixed price or a day rate?

Fixed price against a written scope, with an explicit list of exclusions. A day rate transfers every estimating error to you, the party least able to judge it, and pays the supplier for being slow. The one check worth doing on a fixed quote is to divide it by the measured £525 day rate and ask whether the implied number of days matches the scope you have been given.

How is Augustova’s price different?

Bespoke software at £8,000 to £30,000, fixed per phase: a single process £4,000 to £10,000, a business application £10,000 to £20,000, a platform with mobile £20,000 to £30,000 and up. Inside the consensus bands above and at the lower end for applications, because we build small teams around a written scope and do not sell days.

Read next

Custom software development in London →Our prices, in full →How long a business app takes to build →Fixed price or day rate →Off the shelf or custom software →Questions to ask a software partner →

Want a real number for your project?

Describe the process you want removed and roughly when you need it. A founder will come back with a fixed price, a written scope and the band it sits in, or an honest reason not to build it.

Start a conversation →