Guides

What an AI readiness audit is, what it should contain, and what UK firms charge for one.

By Zain M · 14 September 2026 · 13 min read

An AI readiness audit is a fixed-scope review of how a business works, what data it holds and which processes AI could take on, ending in a ranked, costed roadmap. Published UK prices run from free to £8,000, with most paid audits at £750 to £5,000 over one to three weeks. Augustova’s is £2,500 to £6,000, credited against a build.

Published UK price rangeFree to £8,000
Typical paid audit£750 to £5,000, one to three weeks
Top UK barrierLimited AI skills, 60% (DSIT)
Augustova£2,500 to £6,000, credited against a build

What an audit is, and what it is not

An AI readiness audit, also sold as an AI adoption audit, opportunity audit or readiness assessment, is a short fixed-scope engagement that answers three questions: where does time and money go in this business, which of that could AI take on, and what would each candidate cost to build and to run. It ends in a written document you keep whether or not you buy anything else. Done well it is the cheapest thing in the AI market, because it stops the expensive things: the pilot with no baseline, the tool bought for a problem nobody measured, the build that costs more to run than it saves.

It is not a sales call with a report attached, though several free ones are exactly that. It is not a technology audit of your network, though the readiness of your systems is one of the things it scores. And it is not a strategy workshop: a good audit produces a ranked list with prices, not a vision, and the test of one is whether a different supplier could build from it without asking a question.

The market for these in the UK has settled into a recognisable shape, with published prices from free to £8,000 and a fairly consistent list of contents. This guide sets out the contents an audit should have, the published prices side by side, a table you can score your own business on before paying anyone, and a worked example of what the output looks like.

Ten deliverables an audit should contain

The names differ from firm to firm; the contents should not. If a proposal lacks more than two of these, it is a lighter product than the word audit implies, and should be priced as one. The list is drawn from what the paid UK providers in the next section publish as their deliverables, reconciled, with the two items most of them omit, the measured baseline and the running cost, added because they are the two the build will stand or fall on.

01A description of how the operation actually runs, from interviews with the people doing the work rather than the people who own the diagram, because documented procedure and daily reality diverge.
02A measured baseline: hours per week on each candidate task, counted or timed rather than guessed, because the saving is calculated from nothing else.
03A data inventory: what you hold, where, in what state, and who is allowed to use it for what, including the personal data that will need a DPIA.
04A systems review: which tools have an API, which do not, and what that does to the cost of integrating anything.
05A skills and adoption assessment: who already uses AI tools, on which accounts, and what the team would need to run a system after handover.
06A ranked opportunity list, each with an indicative build price, an indicative monthly running cost at your volume, the hours it would recover, and a payback estimate.
07A risk and compliance note per opportunity: personal data, automated decisions about people, consent for any outbound contact, and where data would travel.
08A recommendation that includes "do nothing", "fix the process" and "buy off the shelf" where those are the honest answers.
09A ninety-day plan for the first step, with a named owner on your side and a stop rule.
10A readout in person with the people who will decide, and a document written so that any other supplier could build from it.

What nine UK providers publish, side by side

These are the firms whose audit prices we could read on their own pages on 14 September 2026, excluding VAT. Where a firm publishes no price, the table says so. The free products are included because they are what most searches for the term return, and because it is worth knowing what they are. The final column, whether the fee is credited against a later build, is the one buyers most often forget to ask about and the one that most changes the real price.

Provider, read Sep 2026PriceDurationWhat is publishedCredit against a build
dijitulFrom £495 + VATNot statedFixed-fee readiness audit, a written staff AI policy, and on-site trainingNot stated
ajairu.ai£750 to £2,500; entry tier £750 to £1,2001 to 2 weeks; entry tier 1 weekUp to 2 departments at entry tier, five readiness pillars, top 3 to 5 opportunities, ROI estimates, prioritised roadmap; "you keep the report whether you work with us or not"Not stated
The AI ConsultancySingle department £1,000; organisation-wide £3,000 to £8,000; pricing page lists a readiness sprint from £3,5005 working days; 1 to 3 weeksData quality audit, infrastructure review, skills assessment, process mapping, red-amber-green scorecard, written reportNot stated
Wingenious£2,450 fixed5 days from kickoffTwenty-page report, Readiness Index out of 100, five ranked use cases, 90-day roadmap, ROI measurement framework, 60-minute readout50% (£1,225) if an engagement is booked within 60 days
Hartz AIFrom £5,000 + VATNot statedCapability and process mapping, 40+ processes evaluated, risk and compliance review, AI Opportunity Assessment Report; roadmap from £7,500Not stated
AI AdvisersQuoted; "pricing is tailored to the scope and size of your business"2 to 3 weeksFive-phase process, risk register, written report with a 90-day roadmapNot stated
TechcareFreeSelf-serve questionnaire, or guidedAn AI Readiness Score emailed to you, oriented to adopting Microsoft CopilotNot applicable
Digital EightFree60 secondsA five-question calculator estimating revenue lost to missed calls, leading to a demoNot applicable
Augustova£2,500 to £6,000 fixed1 to 2 weeksWritten report on how the operation runs, opportunities ranked by return each with price and timeline, ROI model with running costs, prioritised backlog you keep100% against any build

All figures exclude VAT and were read on the providers’ own pages on the date shown. The two free products are a score and a calculator respectively, not an audit in the sense of the ten deliverables above.

Why the prices differ by a factor of ten

A £495 product and a £5,000 product are both called an audit, and the difference is days. Reading the published contents, the cheaper products are one or two days of a consultant’s time and a template: a questionnaire, a score, a short report. The £2,000 to £5,000 products are five to fifteen days: interviews, a look at real data, a ranked list with numbers. Set against the measured contract market, where the median AI consultant contract day rate in the six months to 14 September 2026 was £575 according to IT Jobs Watch, a £2,450 audit is about four days and a £5,000 audit about nine. That is the sanity check to apply to any quote: how many days does this imply, and could the ten deliverables be produced in them?

The other variable is what happens afterwards. Wingenious credits half its fee against work booked within sixty days; we credit all of ours against any build; most publish nothing. A credit is not a discount, it is an alignment: a firm that will earn the fee back only if it recommends something you go on to build has an incentive to recommend something, which is why the document should include the "do nothing" option and why you should read it as a buyer, not a client.

Free assessments have their place. Techcare’s produces a score in minutes and is honest that it is oriented to Copilot adoption; Digital Eight’s is a missed-calls calculator that leads to a demo. Neither will tell you which of your processes to automate first, and neither times anything, but either will tell you in ten minutes whether you are ready to have that conversation, which is worth knowing before spending £2,500.

Score yourself first

Before paying for an audit, score your business on the eight dimensions below, one, three or five each. The total tells you what to buy. Under sixteen: fix the basics, most of which cost nothing, and take a free assessment. Sixteen to twenty-eight: a paid audit will find things, and its recommendations can be acted on. Over twenty-eight: you probably already know the first thing to build, and an audit that doubles as the scoping of that build is the better purchase.

DimensionScore 1Score 3Score 5
A measured problemNobody has timed any taskOne task has been timed roughlyHours per week are known for the three biggest repetitive tasks
VolumeUnder 100 repetitive items a month100 to 1,000 a monthOver 1,000 a month, or a task that eats a full day a week
DataOn paper, in email, in headsIn spreadsheets and a few systems, inconsistentIn systems with exports or APIs, reasonably clean
SystemsNo system has an APIThe main system does, the rest do notThe systems you would integrate all have APIs
SkillsNobody uses AI tools at workSome staff use personal accountsBusiness accounts, a policy, and someone who would own a system
Data protectionNo ICO registration, no policy, no DPA with suppliersRegistered, some paperworkRegistered, written policy, DPIAs done, DPAs in place
Budget and ownerNo budget, no ownerA budget but no one with timeA budget and a named owner with time allocated
Appetite for changeThe team would resist any change to how the work is doneOpen, if it is shown to workActively asking for it, and willing to change the process, not only the tool

Our own scoring, not a published standard. DSIT finds 54% of current UK adopters feel ready to scale their use and only 34% of planned adopters feel ready to implement; the table is a way of finding out which you are before anyone charges you to tell you.

The barriers the data says you will hit

DSIT’s AI Adoption Research, 3,500 UK businesses interviewed between February and May 2025 and published in February 2026, is the best map of why UK firms do not adopt. Among the factors preventing adoption, 71 per cent cited a lack of identified need, 60 per cent limited AI skills, and 48 per cent a lack of tools or platforms. Asked how significant particular barriers were, 80 per cent called ethical concerns significant, 76 per cent high costs, and 72 per cent unclear regulation. Nearly half, 47 per cent, of businesses planning to adopt had not budgeted a specific amount.

The first two are what an audit is for. "No identified need" is rarely true of a business that keys data between systems by hand; it is usually a measurement gap, and the baseline is the deliverable that closes it. The skills barrier is real, and the ONS finds the sensible response is common: of businesses citing a lack of expertise, around 62 per cent are training or retraining existing staff. An audit should say which skills you need in-house after handover and which you can buy by the project.

The ONS series puts the size of the gap in one line. In June 2026, 35 per cent of UK businesses with ten or more staff used AI, but only one adopter in ten used it extensively. Among the smallest firms it was 28 per cent. Most UK adoption is one person with a chatbot. The audit is the step between that and a system that runs a process, and DSIT’s finding that 65 per cent of firms plan to adopt off-the-shelf applications suggests the honest recommendation will often be to buy rather than build.

A worked example of an audit output

An illustration built from published figures and stated assumptions, not a client account. A 35-person building-services contractor asks what AI could do for it. The audit interviews the office team, times three tasks for a week, and reads the systems. The output, condensed, looks like this; the full version is a document of perhaps fifteen pages, and the part that takes longest to produce is the first line, because nobody had timed anything before.

01Baseline. Supplier invoices and delivery notes: about 900 documents a month, six minutes each to key into the accounts package, roughly 90 hours a month. Quote follow-up: about 150 quotes a month, chased by hand when someone remembers, around 20 hours. Timesheet queries: about 15 hours a month. Readiness scores: 4 on data, 3 on systems (the accounts package has an API, the job system does not), 3 on skills, 3 on data protection.
02Opportunity one: document extraction into the accounts package. Single process on our ladder, £4,000 to £10,000. Running cost at 900 documents a month, at roughly 3,000 input and 500 output tokens each, is 2.7 million input and 0.45 million output tokens: about $1.60 a month on OpenAI’s gpt-5-mini at $0.25 and $2.00 per million, and about $10 on Anthropic’s Sonnet 5, before hosting. If two thirds of documents post without a person, 60 hours a month are recovered. At a loaded £18 an hour, an assumption, that is £1,080 a month, and a build at the midpoint pays back in about seven months.
03Opportunity two: quote follow-up by text and email with a stop-on-reply rule. £4,000 to £15,000 because it touches the job system, the calendar and two channels. Running cost dominated by messages: 150 quotes with an average of three texts each is 450 messages a month at Twilio’s published $0.056, or about $25, plus a few dollars of model. Twenty hours recovered, and a consent and opt-out rule built in before the first message.
04Opportunity three: timesheet queries. Recommendation: do nothing with AI; the queries come from a form that lets people leave the job code blank. Fix the form.
05Plan: opportunity one first, ninety days, owner named, stop rule set at 95 per cent of line totals correct on the real test set. DPIA drafted alongside because supplier invoices carry sole traders’ personal data. Audit fee credited against the build.

When not to buy one

If you have fewer than ten staff and no process that eats hours in a predictable shape, an audit will not pay back. Score yourself on the table, buy business accounts for the tools your team already uses, write the one-page policy, and see what a month of that produces. The ONS finds cost is cited as a barrier by only 7 to 14 per cent of businesses; the commoner problem is not knowing what to do first, and at that size the answer is usually visible without help.

Equally, if you already know the process, have the baseline and have a budget, an audit that ends in a report you then have to re-explain to a builder is a delay. Buy the scoping of the build instead, from a firm that will build it, on a fixed price, with the audit credited. That is the reason our audit is credited in full: a client who already knows the answer should not pay twice for it.

How Augustova prices it

For transparency, since we are a row in the table: a fixed-price AI adoption audit at £2,500 to £6,000 over one to two weeks, containing the ten deliverables above, ending in a written report on how the operation actually runs, opportunities ranked by return each with an indicative price and timeline, an ROI model with running costs included, and a prioritised backlog you keep whether or not you build with us. The fee is credited in full against any build that follows: a first implementation at £4,000 to £15,000, a custom AI system at £8,000 to £25,000, or bespoke software from £8,000. No day rates, no minimum, and the report says "do nothing" when that is the honest answer.

Method and sources

We read the pricing and service pages of every UK provider we could find that publishes an audit price, on 14 September 2026, and recorded each figure with what the page says it includes. Where a firm quotes only "tailored" pricing we recorded that. All prices exclude VAT. Adoption and barrier statistics are DSIT’s AI Adoption Research, published 13 February 2026 with fieldwork from February to May 2025, and the ONS article on AI in UK businesses published 20 July 2026. The self-assessment table is our own and is not a published standard.

The worked example uses stated assumptions, our published price ladder, and model and messaging prices read on the OpenAI, Anthropic and Twilio pricing pages on the same day; it is not a client account, and the hourly cost in it should be replaced with your own. We will revise the table as the sources change; the date at the top of the page is the date of the last check.

dijitul, AI services and readiness audit (read Sep 2026) →ajairu.ai, AI Readiness Audit UK and pricing (read Sep 2026) →The AI Consultancy, AI readiness assessment (read Sep 2026) →The AI Consultancy, pricing page (read Sep 2026) →Wingenious, AI Readiness Audit, £2,450, 5 days (read Sep 2026) →Hartz AI, services and prices (read Sep 2026) →AI Advisers, AI Readiness Audit for UK SMEs (read Sep 2026) →Techcare, free AI Readiness Audit (read Sep 2026) →Digital Eight, free AI audit (read Sep 2026) →IT Jobs Watch, AI consultant contract rates, UK, six months to 14 Sep 2026 →DSIT, AI Adoption Research, IFF Research and Technopolis (13 Feb 2026) →ONS, Artificial intelligence in UK businesses: 2023 to 2026 (20 Jul 2026) →OpenAI, API pricing (read 14 Sep 2026) →Anthropic, Claude pricing, API and plans (read 14 Sep 2026) →Twilio, SMS pricing, United Kingdom (read 14 Sep 2026) →Our prices, in full →

Common questions

What is an AI readiness audit?

A short fixed-scope review of how a business actually runs, what data and systems it has, and which processes AI could take on, ending in a ranked list of opportunities with build and running costs, a risk note, and a ninety-day plan. Published UK versions take one to three weeks and cost from free to £8,000.

How much does an AI readiness audit cost in the UK?

Published prices on 14 September 2026: dijitul from £495, ajairu.ai £750 to £2,500, The AI Consultancy £1,000 for one department or £3,000 to £8,000 organisation-wide, Wingenious £2,450, Hartz AI from £5,000, all excluding VAT. Techcare and Digital Eight offer free self-assessments. Augustova charges £2,500 to £6,000, credited against a build.

What should an AI audit include?

A measured baseline of hours per task, a data inventory, a systems review, a skills assessment, a ranked opportunity list with build and monthly running costs, a compliance note per opportunity, a recommendation that can say "do nothing" or "buy off the shelf", a ninety-day plan with an owner, a readout, and a document another supplier could build from.

Is a free AI readiness assessment worth doing?

As a first step, yes. Techcare’s produces an AI Readiness Score in minutes and is oriented to Microsoft Copilot; Digital Eight’s is a five-question missed-calls calculator that leads to a demo. Neither replaces a measured baseline or a costed opportunity list, but either tells you quickly whether you are ready to pay £750 to £5,000 for one.

How long does an AI readiness audit take?

Published UK durations run from five days (Wingenious, The AI Consultancy’s single-department version) to two or three weeks (ajairu.ai, AI Advisers, The AI Consultancy organisation-wide). Ours is one to two weeks. Most of the elapsed time is finding an hour with each of the people who do the work, and a week of timing the tasks as they are actually done.

What are the biggest barriers to AI adoption for UK SMEs?

DSIT’s 2026 research found 71 per cent of businesses citing a lack of identified need, 60 per cent limited AI skills and 48 per cent a lack of tools. Asked about significance, 80 per cent called ethical concerns significant, 76 per cent high costs and 72 per cent unclear regulation. An audit exists to turn the first two into a measured list.

Is the audit fee credited against the build?

It depends on the firm. Wingenious credits 50 per cent, £1,225, against an engagement booked within sixty days. Augustova credits the full £2,500 to £6,000 fee against any build that follows. Most providers publish nothing on credit, so ask, and treat the answer as a signal: a credited fee means the firm expects to earn it back by recommending something, so read the report as a buyer.

Do we need an audit if we already know what to build?

Probably not. If you have the baseline, the process and a budget, buy the scoping of the build from a firm that will build it on a fixed price, and make sure the scoping doubles as the audit. A report you then have to re-explain to a builder is a delay.

How do I score my own AI readiness?

Rate eight things one, three or five: a measured problem, volume, data, systems with APIs, skills, data protection, budget and owner, and appetite for change. Under sixteen, fix the basics first, most of which cost nothing; sixteen to twenty-eight, a paid audit will find things you can act on; over twenty-eight, you probably already know the first build and should buy its scoping instead.

Read next

AI consultancy in London →What an AI consultant costs in the UK →Why most AI pilots never reach production →ChatGPT, Claude and Copilot at work under UK GDPR →What an AI feature costs to run →Our prices, in full →

Want the ranked list for your business?

Describe the three tasks that eat the most hours. A founder will tell you whether an audit is worth paying for, what it would find, and what the first build would cost to run, before anybody spends anything.

Start a conversation →