Guides

What an AI agent costs to build and, more importantly, to run every month.

By Zain M · 14 September 2026 · 13 min read

An AI agent costs £750 to £15,000 to build at UK agencies, depending on how many systems it touches, and pennies per task to run. Model usage is a fraction of a penny per conversation at $0.20 to $50 per million tokens; SMS at about 4.1p a message and AI voice at 15p to 20p a minute dominate the bill.

Build, single agent£750 to £15,000
Model, per conversationUnder 2p at list price
SMS, per message$0.056 (about 4.1p)
AI voice, per minute15p to 20p plus 1p to 3p telephony

Two costs, and why quotes only mention one

An AI agent has a build cost and a running cost, and almost every quote you receive will state the first and wave at the second. The build cost is a one-off: somebody designs the agent, connects it to your systems, tests it against real inputs and hands it over. The running cost arrives every month for as long as the agent works: model usage, the messages and calls it sends, the platform it runs on, and the person who watches it. In our own production systems the language model has been a single-digit share of variable AI spend, with messaging the largest line, which is the opposite of what most buyers expect and the reason the second cost deserves its own guide.

This page does both. The build cost comes from UK agencies’ published 2026 prices. The running cost comes from the vendors’ own pricing pages, all read on 14 September 2026: OpenAI, Anthropic and Google for models, Twilio for UK telephony and SMS, Resend for email, and n8n, Make and Zapier for the platform. Then two worked examples, an inbound enquiry agent and an outbound chasing agent, priced at stated volumes with every unit price sourced, so you can substitute your own numbers.

Prices in dollars and euros are converted at the Bank of England spot rates for 11 September 2026, $1.3530 and €1.1649 to the pound, and are marked as conversions. UK buyers add VAT. Volumes and token counts in the worked examples are stated assumptions, chosen to be typical of the small businesses that ask us this question; substitute your own and the unit prices still hold. Nothing here is a client account, and no figure describes the size of our own operation.

What UK agencies charge to build one agent

The published prices for a single agent or workflow sit in a narrow band once you separate "reads messages and takes one action" from "reads messy inputs and updates several systems". The first is a few days of work on a platform; the second is integration work, and integration is what you are paying for. Our fuller survey of twelve agencies is in the automation cost guide; these are the rows relevant to a single agent, as read in September 2026, with what each agency says the price includes where it says anything.

Source and dateAuditSingle agent or workflowSeveral connected agentsOngoing
AI Agency Plus, Jul 2026£500 to £2,000First workflow £1,500 to £5,000Departmental build £5,000 to £20,000Retainer £350 to £3,000 a month; first-year budget for one workflow £5,000 to £8,000 all-in
Crownbot, read Sep 2026£499, five working daysFoundation from £800, live typically within a weekOperations from £4,000, live in about three weeks30 to 90 days of support included, then an optional care plan
The Automation Agency, read Sep 2026Process audit £1,500From £750 fixed, "reading messages and taking one clear action"Quoted after a scoping callNot stated
London Axion, read Sep 2026FreePilot £2,000 to £10,000Full custom build £10,000 to £50,000+DIY tools £50 to £200 a month
ElevateAI, upd. Sep 2026Not statedA first pilot "from around £3,000 plus VAT" for one measurable workflowNot statedOne listed agency at £800 a day
Fulminous Software, Aug 2026Proof of concept £5,000 to £15,000AI chatbot £8,000 to £25,000Custom AI solution £40,000 to £120,000AI developer £50 to £120 an hour
Augustova£2,500 to £6,000, credited against the build£4,000 to £15,000, fixed£8,000 to £25,000, fixedRunning costs stated before go-live and capped

All figures exclude VAT. The build price is set by the number of systems the agent must read from and write to, and by how messy the inputs are, not by the AI.

Running cost, line one: the model, per million tokens

Models are priced per million tokens, separately for what you send (input) and what comes back (output). A token is roughly three quarters of a word. The three vendors’ list prices on 14 September 2026 are below; each also sells cheaper cached input and a batch discount, which matter at scale but not for a first agent. The point of the table is the spread: the cheapest capable model is 250 times cheaper per output token than the most expensive, and most of an agent’s work, classifying a message, extracting a date, drafting a reply, runs happily on the cheap end.

Vendor and modelInput, $ per 1M tokensOutput, $ per 1M tokensWhere it fits
OpenAI gpt-5.4-nano$0.20$1.25Classification, routing, extraction
OpenAI gpt-5.4-mini$0.75$4.50Most agent steps
OpenAI gpt-5.4$2.50$15.00Drafting a person will read
OpenAI gpt-5.5$5.00$30.00Hard reasoning, rarely needed in an agent
Anthropic Claude Haiku 4.5$1$5Most agent steps
Anthropic Claude Sonnet 5$2$10Drafting and judgement calls
Anthropic Claude Opus 5$5$25Hard reasoning
Anthropic Claude Fable 5.1$10$50The frontier; almost never the right default
Google Gemini 2.5 Flash-Lite$0.10$0.40The cheapest capable model on any list
Google Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite$0.30$2.50Classification and extraction
Google Gemini 3.5 Flash$1.50$9.00Most agent steps
Google Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview$2.00 (prompts up to 200k tokens)$12.00Long documents

List prices as shown on each vendor’s pricing page on 14 September 2026, in US dollars, before caching and batch discounts. Google’s page notes some newer Flash models are priced at $0.75 input and $3.75 output until 31 December 2026, doubling from 1 January 2027.

Running cost, lines two to five: calls, texts, email and the platform

This is where the money goes. A model call for one conversation costs a fraction of a penny; a text message costs 4p and a minute of AI voice costs around 20p. The table gives every unit price we use in the worked examples, from the vendor’s page and in the currency the vendor bills. Voice has two layers: the telephony (Twilio’s per-minute carriage) and the AI stack that listens, thinks and speaks, for which the published UK guide figure is 15p to 20p a minute all-in; OpenAI’s realtime models are priced per audio token, and its transcription models per minute, which we list so you can build the stack yourself.

LinePublished priceSterling conversionSource
Inbound call to a UK local number£0.0100 a minute; number £3.50 a monthBilled in sterlingTwilio Voice, GB
Outbound call to a UK mobile£0.0305 a minuteBilled in sterlingTwilio Voice, GB
Outbound call to a UK landline£0.0158 a minuteBilled in sterlingTwilio Voice, GB
Outbound SMS to a UK mobile$0.056 a messageAbout 4.1pTwilio SMS, GB
Inbound SMS$0.0075 a messageAbout 0.55pTwilio SMS, GB
UK mobile number for SMS$2.50 a monthAbout £1.85Twilio SMS, GB
AI voice stack, all-in15p to 20p a minutePublished UK guide figureAI Agency Plus
Realtime speech modelgpt-realtime-mini $10 audio input, $20 audio output per 1M tokens; gpt-realtime $32 and $64Per audio tokenOpenAI
Transcriptiongpt-transcribe $0.0045 a minute; Whisper $0.006About 0.33p to 0.44pOpenAI
Email sendingFree to 3,000 a month; $20 a month for 50,000£0 to about £14.78Resend
Platform, n8n CloudStarter €20 a month for 2,500 executions; Pro €50 for 10,000, billed annuallyAbout £17.17 and £42.92n8n
Platform, MakeCore $9 a month for 10,000 creditsAbout £6.65Make
Platform, ZapierProfessional from $19.99 a month for 750 tasks, annual billingAbout £14.77Zapier

Conversions at the Bank of England spot rates for 11 September 2026, $1.3530 and €1.1649 to the pound. Twilio notes that prices may change without notice and that carrier fees may apply. All figures exclude VAT.

Worked example one: an inbound enquiry agent

A fifteen-person lettings agency receives 400 web and email enquiries a month and 300 phone calls outside office hours. The agent reads each written enquiry, answers from the property list, books a viewing into the calendar, confirms by text, and hands anything unusual to a person. Out of hours it also answers the phone. The volumes and the token counts are stated assumptions; the unit prices are from the tables above. This is an illustration, not a client account.

The written enquiries first. Assume five turns per conversation and 6,000 input tokens across them (the system prompt and history are resent each turn) with 800 output tokens. On Claude Sonnet 5 that is 6,000 × $2 ÷ 1,000,000 = $0.012 plus 800 × $10 ÷ 1,000,000 = $0.008, so $0.02 a conversation and $8.00 for 400, about £5.91. On gpt-5.4-mini the same conversation is $0.0081 and the month is $3.24, about £2.39. The confirmation texts are 400 × $0.056 = $22.40, about £16.56. Email replies stay inside Resend’s free 3,000 a month. The n8n Starter plan at €20, about £17.17, covers the executions.

Now the calls. 300 calls at an assumed three minutes is 900 minutes. Twilio’s inbound carriage is 900 × £0.01 = £9.00 plus £3.50 for the number. The AI voice stack at the published 15p to 20p a minute is £135 to £180. Add it up: £5.91 model, £16.56 texts, £17.17 platform, £12.50 telephony and number, £135 to £180 voice AI, which is about £187 to £232 a month. Drop the phone channel and it is about £40. That is the whole point of the sum: the model is 3 per cent of the bill, and one design decision about voice moves the monthly cost by a factor of five.

Worked example two: an outbound chasing agent

A recruitment agency wants 1,000 applicants a month contacted within minutes of applying, chased until they reply, and booked when they do. The sequence: one email, up to two texts, and one call attempt to their mobile, stopping the moment the person responds and never contacting anyone on the do-not-contact list. Assumptions: every applicant gets both texts, 400 reply by text, every applicant gets one call averaging 1.5 minutes including the ones that reach voicemail, and the agent makes three model calls per applicant at 3,000 input and 300 output tokens each.

Texts: 2,000 × $0.056 = $112, about £82.78. Inbound replies: 400 × $0.0075 = $3.00, about £2.22. Calls: 1,000 × 1.5 minutes = 1,500 minutes × £0.0305 = £45.75 of carriage, plus £225 to £300 for the AI voice stack at 15p to 20p, plus about £1.85 for a mobile number. Model: 3,000 calls × 3,000 input tokens = 9 million input tokens at $0.75 on gpt-5.4-mini is $6.75; 3,000 × 300 = 900,000 output tokens at $4.50 is $4.05; $10.80 in total, about £7.98. Email stays inside Resend’s free tier. Platform: 1,000 applicants at three to six runs each is 3,000 to 6,000 executions, so n8n Pro at €50, about £42.92.

Total: about £409 to £484 a month, of which the model is £7.98. Remove the call step and it is about £138. Our own published outcome shares for outbound calling explain why that step is worth questioning: roughly half of calls reach voicemail and about one in eight reach a person. An agent that texts first and calls only the ones who do not reply costs a fraction of one that dials everybody, and the quote should show you that sum before you sign.

Build versus run, over a year

Put the two costs together and the pattern that governs the buying decision appears. The inbound agent costs £4,000 to £15,000 to build at the agencies in the table (£750 to £5,000 if it does one thing on one system) and £2,244 to £2,784 a year to run with voice, or about £480 without it. The outbound agent costs the same to build and £4,900 to £5,800 a year to run with the calling step, or about £1,660 without. Over three years the running cost of the voice version equals or exceeds the build cost, which is why the running cost has to be modelled before the build is priced, not after the first invoice.

Three rules follow. First, route the work: an agent that sends every message to the frontier model at $50 per million output tokens instead of a small model at $1.25 has multiplied the smallest line by forty for no benefit to the reader. Second, design the channels before the model: the decision to text before calling, or to answer the phone at all, moves the bill more than any prompt. Third, cap it: a per-day and per-month ceiling that has been watched stopping the agent in production, because a limit nobody has seen fire is an assumption.

There is a fourth rule for the build price, which is to place it on the ladder before you accept it. The agencies in the table agree that a one-system agent is under £5,000 and a several-system agent is £4,000 to £15,000, so a quote of £12,000 for an agent that reads a form and creates a CRM record has either misread the scope or priced something it has not described. Ask what the extra systems are. If the answer is a retainer, the running cost and the build cost have been blended, and you should ask for them separately.

What a quote should contain before you sign

The worked examples above are what a quote should look like, with your volumes in place of ours. Any agency that has built an agent has this information, because it had to choose a model, a channel and a platform to build it, and the unit prices are on public pages. A quote that omits the running cost is not incomplete by accident; it is incomplete because the sum is unflattering or because nobody did it. Either is worth knowing before you sign, and the list below is the minimum to ask for.

01A build price with a written scope and an exclusions list, placed on the ladder above so you can see what the next rung costs.
02A running-cost model at your volume, line by line: model, texts, minutes, email, platform, with the unit prices and the source of each.
03Which model runs which step and why; a supplier who defaults everything to the largest model has not done the routing work.
04Which platform or codebase, and who owns the accounts, the prompts and the workflows at the end.
05How consent, opt-outs, the do-not-contact list and the statement that the caller is an AI are enforced on every channel.
06The spending ceiling, and evidence it has been tested.

How Augustova prices it

Since we are a row in the table: a first agent at £4,000 to £15,000 fixed, a multi-agent system at £8,000 to £25,000, with an audit at £2,500 to £6,000 credited in full against the build. Running costs are stated before go-live at your volume, using the unit prices above, and capped in production. We run the same agents in our own products and pay the same per-message and per-minute prices you will, which is why the running-cost model comes with the quote rather than after it.

Our prices sit at the higher-integration end of the single-agent band because our agents connect to several systems and keep a person in the loop for the risky steps, which is more build than a one-system workflow at £750. If your case is the one-system workflow, we will say so and point you at the cheaper rung, because an agent that is over-built for its job costs more to run as well as to build.

Method and sources

Build prices are from UK agencies’ own pages and 2026 pricing guides, read on 13 and 14 September 2026, with dates shown; the full twelve-agency survey is in the automation cost guide. Unit running costs are from the vendors’ pricing pages read on 14 September 2026: OpenAI, Anthropic and Google for models; Twilio for UK voice and SMS; Resend for email; n8n, Make and Zapier for platforms. Twilio shows UK voice in sterling and UK SMS in dollars, and both are recorded as shown.

The all-in AI voice figure of 15p to 20p a minute is AI Agency Plus’s published UK estimate, used because no vendor publishes a per-minute price for a complete voice stack; OpenAI’s realtime and transcription prices are listed so a reader can build the figure from parts. Currency conversions use the Bank of England spot rates for 11 September 2026. Token counts and volumes in the worked examples are stated assumptions. The outbound call outcome shares are our own, published in full in the linked calling guide. All prices exclude VAT.

AI Agency Plus, How much AI automation costs in the UK (Jul 2026) →Crownbot, pricing (read Sep 2026) →The Automation Agency, AI automation agency UK (read Sep 2026) →London Axion, AI automation agency (read Sep 2026) →ElevateAI, AI automation agencies UK 2026 (upd. 8 Sep 2026) →Fulminous Software, AI development cost in the UK (Aug 2026) →OpenAI, API pricing (read 14 Sep 2026) →Anthropic, Claude pricing (read 14 Sep 2026) →Google, Gemini API pricing (read 14 Sep 2026) →Twilio, Programmable Voice pricing, United Kingdom (read 14 Sep 2026) →Twilio, SMS pricing, United Kingdom (read 14 Sep 2026) →Resend, pricing (read 14 Sep 2026) →n8n, plans and pricing (read 14 Sep 2026) →Make, pricing (read 14 Sep 2026) →Zapier, plans and pricing (read 14 Sep 2026) →Bank of England, spot exchange rates into sterling, 11 Sep 2026 →

Common questions

How much does it cost to build an AI agent in the UK?

Published 2026 prices at UK agencies: £750 to £5,000 for an agent that reads messages and takes one action on one system, £4,000 to £15,000 for one that reads messy inputs and updates several systems with a person approving the risky steps, and £5,000 to £25,000 for several connected agents. Audits run from £499 to £2,000 and are often credited against the build.

How much does an AI agent cost to run per month?

For a small business, single figures in pounds for the model, plus whatever the agent sends. Our worked inbound agent at 400 written enquiries and 300 calls a month is about £187 to £232, of which the model is £5.91. Our worked outbound agent at 1,000 applicants is about £409 to £484 with calls, or about £138 with texts and email only.

What do AI models cost per million tokens?

On 14 September 2026 list prices ran from $0.10 input and $0.40 output (Gemini 2.5 Flash-Lite) through $0.75 and $4.50 (gpt-5.4-mini) and $1 and $5 (Claude Haiku 4.5) up to $10 and $50 (Claude Fable 5.1). A five-turn conversation on a mid-priced model costs about one to two US cents.

How much does an AI phone agent cost per minute?

Two layers. Telephony from Twilio in the UK is £0.01 a minute inbound to a local number and £0.0305 a minute outbound to a mobile. The AI stack that listens, reasons and speaks is quoted at 15p to 20p a minute by UK automation guides; built from OpenAI’s parts, transcription alone is $0.0045 a minute and the realtime model is priced per audio token.

How much does SMS cost for an AI agent?

Twilio charges $0.056 per outbound message to UK mobiles, about 4.1p at the Bank of England rate for 11 September 2026, and $0.0075 per inbound message. A number is $2.50 a month. Two texts to 1,000 people is $112, about £83, which is why messaging is usually the largest running line for any agent that chases people.

Is the model the expensive part of running an AI agent?

No. In both worked examples the model is 2 to 3 per cent of the monthly bill. Messaging and voice minutes dominate. In our own production systems the language model has been a single-digit share of variable AI spend, with messaging the largest line. Any proposal that models the tokens and forgets the channels will be surprised every month.

Which is cheaper to run an agent on: n8n, Make or Zapier?

At the volumes in this guide, all three are a small line. n8n Starter is €20 a month for 2,500 executions with unlimited steps per execution; Make Core is $9 for 10,000 credits, one per module action; Zapier Professional starts at $19.99 for 750 tasks, one per action step. Past a few thousand runs a month the per-step billing on Make and Zapier grows faster than n8n’s per-execution billing.

How do I cap what an AI agent costs?

Attribute every model call and every message to the agent at the moment it happens, set a per-day and per-month ceiling, and trigger it deliberately in production before you rely on it. Route routine steps to a small model and reserve the expensive one for the few steps that need it; that single change is usually worth more than any prompt tuning.

What does Augustova charge for an AI agent?

A first agent at £4,000 to £15,000 fixed, a multi-agent system at £8,000 to £25,000, and an audit at £2,500 to £6,000 credited against the build. The quote includes a running-cost model at your volume using the unit prices in this guide, and the ceiling is set and tested before go-live.

Read next

AI automation agency in London →What AI automation costs in the UK, a 2026 survey →What an AI feature costs to run →Does AI phone calling actually work? →n8n, Make, Zapier or custom automation →Our prices, in full →

Want the running-cost sum for your case?

Tell us what the agent should do and roughly how many enquiries, applicants or invoices there are each month. A founder will price the build and the monthly run, line by line, before anybody spends anything.

Start a conversation →